Skip to main content


Choose Amarillo ISD
As a choice district with a flexible enrollment policy, AISD students have the opportunity to choose the campus that best meets their needs, even if it’s not their neighborhood school. Students also design their own specialized educational path from elementary through high school with instruction from our team of 100 percent highly qualified teachers. Exceptional opportunities available from our 5th grade string orchestra to dozens of career and technical programs of study enrich students as 21st century scholars every step of the way.

Learn more and explore enrolling your student in AISD (Opens in new window).

Campus Goals and Performance Objectives

Explore our Campus Goals and Performance Objectives (PDF opens in new window), which includes our core values, belief statements, and goals.


Texas Academic Performance Reports (TAPR)

Visit the Texas Academic Performance Reports (TAPR) page (Opens in new window) to view the TAPR.

The TAPR report pulls together a wide range of information on the performance of students in each school and district in Texas every year. Performance is shown disaggregated by student groups, including ethnicity and socioeconomic status. The reports also provide extensive information on school and district staff, programs, and student demographics.

Amarillo High School Hall of Fame
High schools in Amarillo ISD induct two former students or community members with close ties to the school into their Hall of Fame each year. Hall of Fame committees are comprised of faculty, administration, community members who are graduates of the school, class officers and student council leaders. The committee accepts nominations for inductees during the school year and announces their names at a program held either in the fall or spring semester.

The list below is comprised of Amarillo High School Hall of Fame members.

Dr. Carl Spengler photo

Dr. Carl Spengler – 2024 Inductee


Matt Trevathan photo

Matt Trevathan – 2024 Inductee

2023: Leticia Goodrich , Kimberly Tucker

2022: Sgt. Michael Dunn , Robin R. Malone Graves

2021: Dr. Dana K. Janssen , Matthew Minson, M.D.

2020: Walter Alan Howard , Dr. Phillip Periman

2019: Alan Keister , Tom Mathiasmeier

2018: Major Nathan William Anderson , Bo Brock

2017: Jeff Frazer , Bob Sander

2016: Gene Shelburne , Johnny Stidger

2015: Patti Lou Dawkins , Betty Jo Roller

2014: Wick Alexander , Joe Foran

2013: Debra McCartt , Greg Mitchell

2012: Gary Biggers , Ryan Palmer

2011: Dr. J Paul Matney , Dr. Ted M. Nicklaus

2010: Dr. James W. Ryan , Johnny “Soapy” Sudbury

2009: Dr. Gary Garner , John H. Marmaduke

2008: Andrew Chamblin , Kenneth Kohler

2007: Jim Albright , H. Kipling Edenborough

2006: Dr. Michael J. Eck , Mary Stack Ware

2005: Dr. Kenneth Atkins , Jim C. Doche

2004: Captain Eric B. Das , Florence Hill Gwyn

2003: Max Motley , Phil Price

2002: Dr. Tung H. Jeong , Dr. Jerry D. Ramsey

2001: Ben Sargent , Patsy Walker

2000: Rick Husband, Lt. Col., USAF

Major Jon W. Shelburne

1999: Dr. Terry D. Hargrave

1998: Carol Hamilton Nicklaus

Pauline Durrett Robertson

1997: Peggy Rittenberry Lynch , Gilbert “Gib” Ford

1996: Myrle Greathouse , Richard Ware II

1995: Louise Daniel , Dr. Robert Leachman

1994: Shirley F. Fancher

Major General Everett S. Simpson

1993: Bill R. Cormack , Dr. Ann Grandjean

1992: Dr. Allen Early , Jack K. Hill

1991: Judge Morris Overstreet

Catherine Owen Monning Winsett

1990: Capt. Jerry Derrick, Ret. , Jerome McDonough

1989: Dr. Richard Archer , Judge Eugene Jordan

1988: Bonnie Veasey Boynton , Hazel Kelly Wilson

1987: Major General Howard Graves , Dr. Merrill Winsett

1986: M.T. Johnson, Jr. , Thomas Thompson

1985: Bert Ballengee , Peggy Masterson Stinnett

1984: Ann Lee Harris , Roy Tolk

1983: Betty Teel Bivins , Tol Ware

1982: Betty Askew Howell , R.C. Neely, Jr.

1981: T. Boone Pickens, Jr. , Frances Asbury Powell

1980: Lewis Dodson , Ernestine Smith, M.D.

1979: Thad Ansley , Hon. Judge Mary Lou Robinson

1978: Mary Tom Crain , Earnest O. Thompson

Herbert O. Wilborn

1977: Betty Bivins Childers , L. Ray Vahue

1976: S.T. “Bud” Curtis , Wales Madden

W. W. “Windy” Nicklaus

1975: James Garner , Ross Larson , Howard Lynch, Sr.

Putt Powell , Katherine Wilson